This is the "Home" page of the "Research Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Databases  

Last Updated: Sep 8, 2015 URL: http://gulliverschools.libguides.com/content.php?pid=385750 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Gale Power Search

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

 

Global Reference on the Environment, Energy and Natural Resources

 

Questia

 

Global Issues in Context

 

Library Databases

Need to find an article?  Check out our collection of online databases.  You can read the descriptions to determine the best one for your needs or you can search our most popular databases directly on this page.  

When accessing databases off campus, you will need to enter the associated UN and PW. Usernames and passwords can be found when you click on Library Portal when you log in to your Gulliver student account.

-The Library Team

 

 

ABC-Clio (Social Science)

   ABC-CLIO's American Government database covers the political and economic systems of the United States using both primary and secondary documents.
ABC-CLIO's American History database investigates the people, events and themes of American history.
ABC-CLIO's Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society explores how society shapes and is shaped by controversy—with authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and primary and secondary sources.
ABC-CLIO's World at War focuses on the causes and consequences of wars fought all over the world.
ABC-Clio's World Geography focuses on the geographic, political, social, economic, environmental, and cultural forces that are increasingly important in our globalized world.
ABC-CLIO's World History: Modern Era is organized chronologically and thematically and covers the evolution of modern Europe since the Renaissance, concurrent developments in Asia, Africa and the Islamic world; the global impact of the Industrial Revolution; and the last 100 years of conflicts and international cooperation.
 

Gale

Artemis Literary Sources allows you to search accross all of your Library's literary works and criticisms. 
Biography In Context integrates biographies from Gale Group sources with related full-text articles as well as of images and links to handpicked web sites, covering all eras and nationalities.
Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources (GREENR) offers reference content in the area of the environment, energy and natural resources.
Gale Virtual Reference Library includes reference ebooks, such as Science and Its Times (under science), World Eras (under History), World Literature and Its Times: Profiles of Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events That Influenced Them, and Literature and Its Times: Profiles of 300 Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events that Influenced Them, and Literature and Its Times: Profiles of 300 Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events that Influenced Them (under English), plus many more!
Global Issues in Context addresses broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics in the news that are related to these broader issues.
Literature Resource Center includes full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
National Geographic Virtual Library: featuries magazine archive 1888 - Present 
Opposing Viewpoints in Context covers current issues, featuring viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
Student Resources in Context emphasizes high school curricular areas, provides reference sources including magazine/newspaper articles, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia.
Sources in US History - American Revolution:  This digital archive documents the revolution and war that created the United States of America, from the earliest protests in 1765 through the peace treaty of 1783. The collection examines the political, social, and intellectual upheaval of the age, as well as the actual war for American independence through its eight long years of conflict. 
Sources in US History - Civil War:  This digital archive documents the war that transformed America, ending slavery and unifying the nation around the principles of freedom. The collection examines the war in all its complexity; its battles and campaigns, its political and religious aspects, the experiences of its leaders and common soldiers, the home front and the military campground, from its causes to its consequences.
Sources in US History - Slavery in Americaa digital collection of over 600 documents in 75,000 pages selected by Vernon Burton and Troy Smith from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and drawn from the Sabin collection and other sources.
Artemis Primary Sources:  Starting with Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) and Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO), Gale began to incorporate our primary source collections into Artemis Primary Sources, enabling researchers, teachers, and students to cross-search these collections and discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.
 

Artemis

 

Credo Reference

 

Credo Reference Concept Map


Quickly find information with Credo's visual search tool to expand your knowledge of a given area.
 

Classroom videos

Title Segment
 

Opposing Viewpoints

 

JStor

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip